An Experiment in Expression

Because of the extreme amount of demand by friends and family to start a blog (maybe I dreamed that first part…yeah, pretty sure…) I decided to start one.  My goal is not so much to write about the latest pictures my kids drew, whether or not Dunkin’ Donuts coffee is as good as Starbucks’, or to rant about the latest loss by a Philadelphia sports team, but rather, I hope to offer my thoughts on all things that shape our lives as Christians.  Music, culture, church, the Bible, Movies, theology, Books, tragedies, miracles, neighbors and friends.

I don’t claim to be perfect (even my kids have figured out I am not…which is very sad) but, since we’re all on this side of Heaven, we’re all in the same boat.

So, sounds like a pretty general blog, right?  It is.  I don’t want to limit what God wants to say.  Well, what defines us as Christians is not the world.  The world does not tell us who we are.  What defines us is who God says we are.  This is one of my favorite scriptures that, in my opinion, defines who we are in Christ (loved it so much I had to write a song about it):

2 Corinthians 5:16-21 (NIV)    So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. 20 We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. 21 God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

I often have this image of Jesus having the sin of the world dumped on him at the cross, and this is true to a certain extent.  But the last verse here takes in a million steps further.  Jesus BECAME sin for us so we could become righteous.  That is just amazing.  How the perfect God of the universe was able to literally become sin is baffling to me.

I’m keeping this blog brief today, but I wanted to start off with this simple reflection on the cross and what Christ did for us.  There’s no better place to start.  He deserves all the praise and glory.  No me and this silly blog.  Not the person who invented blogs.  Not the person who invented the internet.  Not the person who invented computers, or electricity…not anyone.  Not anyone but Jesus.

Leave a Reply

